Book online

From: 
nights: 
adults:
Search »
English English
by Orient-Express

The History of Hotel das Cataratas

The construction of Hotel das Cataratas started in 1939. The outbreak of World War II affected construction and the hotel was finally completed after ten years and was officially inaugurated on October 4th 1958 with 52 rooms.

The hotel is located in a privileged position alongside the Iguassu Falls and has beautiful colonial architecture, but at that time, due to the primitive access to the Iguassu Falls, there were many difficulties for those who wanted to stay in the hotel.

In August 1959 the hotel was being administrated by Realtur Hoteleira S/A, subsidiary of Real Consortium Airways which was later acquired by Varig S/A Corporations in 1967. After that the hotel stayed under Cia Tropical de Hotéis control until September 2007 and was known as the Tropical das Cataratas.

Face to the strong national and international marketing developed by VARIG Airline, the Tropical das Cataratas started receiving many foreign clients, which forced the hotel enlargement, one in 1971 and 1982, increasing its capacity to 203 beautiful rooms with two Presidential Suites.

Hotel das Cataratas celebrated its 50th birthday in 2008. Throughout its four decades, the hotels construction and original aspects have been preserved by an exhausting and continuous maintenance.

The Iguassu Falls was declared National Humanity Heritage by UNESCO, and is a strong candidate for the New 7 Natural Wonders of the World, due to the stunning natural beauty of the Falls.

The hotel is now managed by Orient-Express, who in October 2009 completed a major rennovation of the hotel and guest experience to fully capture the unique location.

   Exterior Iguacau Falls
 

Features & Offers